season finale season

May 23, 2014

I only have three to talk about — Game of Thrones is still a few episodes out, and I should just do a big ol’ GoT post.  And I’m behind on movies, because of all this traveling.  I probably won’t get to see X-Men: Days of Future Past until Monday, but I’m really looking forward to it.  And I’m planning on seeing Godzilla.  At some point, when I’m not running around like a chicken with my head off.  (Though the analyses that Godzilla is doing so much better at the box office than Pacific Rim because it has less plot and more dumb are making me sad.)

Anyway (spoilers ahead!):

Castle:  I’m so extremely, ridiculously happy they’ve finally wrapped up the whole conspiracy story with Kate’s mom’s murder and all the rest of it because that storyline had become a toll of doom for the episodes that covered it.  “Oh, the murder and that senator dude are here?  Must be season finale time.  Here comes the cliffhanger and characters being stupid!”  But they didn’t wrap the season up with that this time.  Hooray!  And seriously:  “Oh, Beckett, the clue to solve your mother’s murder was with you all along!  Now click your heels!”  That’s just funny.

The result of this quick little wrap up:  I immensely enjoyed all the wedding shenanigans of the finale.  And I am simultaneously intrigued and amused by the cliffhanger.

Arrow:  I haven’t been this excited about a TV show since the second season of Battlestar Galactica.  Any one of the last five episodes would have made a splendid season finale cliffhanger.  Too many “Holy shit!” moments to count.  But no, they gave us an actual season finale, with some stories tied up neatly, and others left hanging, some questions answered (Slade’s eyepatch, explained!), and others introduced.  Great, great stuff here.  This show is melodrama, for sure, but it’s very well written melodrama.  Both over the top and heartfelt.  And Felicity.  Oh, Felicity. I love her so much.

And the Flash preview:  OH. HELL. YES.  My summary:  Look, we’re a serious CW melodramatic show here.  Very serious.  Very, very serious–WOOOOHOOOOO SUPERPOWERS WOOOOOO!  Which is exactly what a comic book TV show ought to be.

Agents of SHIELD:  The show ultimately did the impossible:  it finally made me like Skye.  “Ward, you’re a Nazi!”  “What?!  No I’m not!”  “Yes, you are totally a Nazi, that’s page one of the Hydra book!”  (And that stark look on Ward’s face, where the true implications of his life come crashing down on him, because yes, he is a Nazi.)  It’s fascinating to me that Skye seems to be a much better character when she’s earnest and idealistic, than she was when she was scheming and conniving.  See, dark & gritty doesn’t always mean better.  Some bits of the Hollywood/comics world seem to slowly, slowly be realizing this.

Overall, this was probably my favorite episode of the whole season.  Lots of excitement, actual nail-biting, actual shouting at the screen.  Best Fury appearance ever, and the best banter ever.  “Hey, guys, I found it!”  The episode felt like it was written as if they didn’t know they were going to get renewed — it left some questions, but wasn’t a cliffhanger.  Much like the Arrow finale.  I think this is a fine, fine way to do a season finale.  I’m actually looking forward to next season.

And now, I’m off to enjoy this fine Memorial Day weekend.  Stay safe, y’all.  Excelsior.

6 Responses to “season finale season”

  1. Phenix Nash Says:

    Does knowing George RR Martin affect the way you experience Game of Thrones?

  2. LupLun Says:

    I don’t know, I thought Skye’s best moment all season was gathering intel from a Cybertek accountant armed with little more than master-level bullshit skills.


  3. Though the analyses that Godzilla is doing so much better at the box office than Pacific Rim because it has less plot and more dumb

    I haven’t heard that, but okay. ;/

    I suspect the real reason Godzilla is doing better is because it was marketed more as a disaster movie than Pacific Rim, which was marketed as, well, a kaiju/mecha movie — 2 genres that aren’t exactly popular with mainstream American audiences.

    If nothing else, this Godzilla is certainly more worthy of its title than the 1998 travesty.

  4. Roxanne De Marco Says:

    Also going to see X-Men on Monday (I hope). No interested in Godzilla. Just finished my first “Kitty” book. Silver Bullet. VERY good. Going to go back and start from the beginning. Sorry, you stopped watching Dr. Who–I’ve been a fan for 50 years–I can’t shake it now. And I agree about Martha; even going back to the 1960s beginning, she’s one of the few who walked away undamaged.

  5. Thomas Stacey Says:

    @Stay I mostly enjoyed the new X-Men on Monday, but it bugged me that it seemed to be using current or at least more recent (at least 1990s) tech in the older timeline where a lot of the movie took place.

    Thanks for the info. Most interesting one is Arrow which I so wish I could watch more of! Netflix hasn’t gotten past the first season though. Skipping Agents spoilers until I can get caught up.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers