words, words, words….

May 14, 2014

Reminder for those attending RT Convention:  Secret Mission is go!  Find me (either at the Book Fair on Saturday, or after a panel, or some other time when I’m not otherwise occupied), recite for me some bit of poetry or lines from a play that the Master of London would have known and appreciated when he was alive, and be rewarded.  (While supplies last, I’m afraid!)

In other reading news, I’ve just finished The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker, and I loved loved loved it.  It’s a turn of the century (last century) immigrant story, with fantasy — in fact, this is exactly the sort of thing I mean when I talk about wanting to expand the definition of urban fantasy as far as possible, because this is great urban fantasy:  modern setting, a familiar (though historical) New York City, with amazingly well-drawn fantastical elements.  This is the kind of book that makes me as a writer insanely jealous, because it’s so well done and I’m just staring at it, thinking, “How?!”  Catnip, people.  Word catnip.

And that immigrant story:  there’s a movie called The Legend of 1900 which is fair to middling (the ending stank), that I saw mostly because Tim Roth is in it, and it’s also an immigrant story.  There’s this absolutely gorgeous, heart-wrenching opening scene taking place on the deck of a passenger steamer:  there’s fog, and all the passengers are looking over the railing, waiting for their first glimpse — and the fog parts and there she is, the Statue of Liberty, and the sense of joy and hope at that view is fierce.  The Golem and the Jinni has a similar scene, just as powerful, and for anyone who had ancestors come over from Europe on one of those ships, with everything they own in the world in a suitcase, (my great-grandfather Linder arrived from Sweden on the Mauretania), it’s like peeking over their shoulder for a little while.  It’s like time travel.

4 Responses to “words, words, words….”


  1. Whoa! My great grandmother is a Linder from Sweden also. They settled in Wisconson. Mind blown…

  2. Doruk Says:

    I flew over, does that count ;)

  3. Thomas Stacey Says:

    Wow… that just gives me much much more motivation to get and finish reading that book. Sounds like it was really incredible.I picked it up and read about the first chapter or two in the bookstore(to the point they get to America) and knew that if I kept on I’d be in the store all night just reading that. I did add it to my must buy list though, just never got around to actually buying it yet.

    I probably have those family members in my ancestry as I am around 1/8 Spaniard from my dad’s mom’s side. I just don’t know my family history enough to know who they were and how they got here.

  4. Jo Anne Says:

    Lynnette: was her name Elin?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers