social whirl

March 10, 2014

I am an introvert.  This means I’m perfectly happy staying home all weekend with my dog, my knitting, my crafts, my books, my movies, and my writing, all curled up on the sofa, warm and cozy and safe in this life of the mind I’ve built for myself.  If I’m not careful, I would never leave the house.  (You know you can get groceries delivered?)  And I know this would not ultimately be good for me, because I would eventually end up as one of those stories where people find my body three years later and wonder what happened.  (One of my friends says they wouldn’t find a body because Lily would eat me.  But I say Lily would go for help.)

I’m really proud of myself this weekend, because instead of just going to the yarn store like I planned, I called a friend and made a trip of it — yarn store, a nice lunch, and a few hours of actual socializing.  I felt like a real functional human being.

yarn1

Pretty, pretty yarn…

Then on Sunday, I didn’t just go out:  I went to a ball.  This was sort of a new thing for me, but sort of familiar.  I’ve been to plenty of SCA dances, but this one was Regency.  Actually, the organizer called it the Lewis and Clark Ball — she explained that she wants to make an effort to recognize that American culture in this period overlapped with British culture, and the same dances and fashions and so on were happening here as well.  (I mean, look at that gorgeous Regency-style gown on First Lady Dolley Madison.)  This event served as my deadline for making my Regency gown.  Ta da!

IMG_5277

My goal for the event was to go, be social, and dance at least once dance.  Well, I ended up dancing every single dance, because it’s hard to sit out when people keeping asking you to dance.  What’s better than having a Regency gown you made yourself?  Having one that’s been danced in.

So, it was a good weekend.

IMG_5279

(My friends Karen and Bill, who encouraged me to come to the ball.)

7 Responses to “social whirl”

  1. bkwins Says:

    Does anyone else think that Dolley Madison looks like Terry Jones of Monty Python in that picture? Or maybe it’s the other way around.

  2. Joseph Charpak Says:

    “I say Lily would go for help”

    What’s that Lily? Carrie Vaughn is stuck in a well?

  3. Beth Says:

    Carrie, your dress looks beautiful!

  4. Jazzlet Says:

    Scrummy wool!

    Lovely dress too :-)

  5. Thomas Stacey Says:

    Very lovely dress, Carrie!

  6. carriev Says:

    Thanks, everyone!


  7. […] that yarn I got a few weeks […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 352 other followers