scuba highlights

February 10, 2014

I got to take a vacation to someplace warm last week — including two days of diving.  Woooo!  So hard to come back to the freezing cold.

My second dive in Cozumel was great because it was very relaxed and chock full of fish, including a bunch of species I’d never seen before.  A giant snapper of some kind, maybe 20″ long, followed our group for the entire hour-long dive.  He either needed a school to hang with for awhile, or maybe he thought we knew where the food was.  For whatever reason he was there, having his company was awfully cool.  He was a chill dude and he made the dive more chill by being there.

I also saw a lobster, perched on a lump of coral.  At least, I thought it was a lobster, but it was the strangest looking lobster I’ve ever seen.  For one thing, it didn’t seem to have a head.  It definitely didn’t have big long wavy antennae, which is how I usually spot lobster underwater.  I watched it as long as I could, and it was just kind of flat and wriggly — like a giant roly poly bug underwater or something. I was the only one who saw it, so I couldn’t ask about it after the dive.

So last night I finally got out my reef guide and was flipping through it, not even thinking about any specific fish, when there it was, that goofy flat antennae-less lobster thing that I saw:  Spanish (or slipper) lobster.  Wooooooo!  What a weird looking thing.  And so very cool.

My other favorite thing I saw, on an earlier dive:  baby yellowtail damsel.  The thing glowed like disco lights.  And it was tiny and cute!

I’m getting confident enough with the diving that I’m starting to think about learning underwater photography, so I can share some of these things with you.

2 Responses to “scuba highlights”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Didn’t read far enough in the post. Must be quite rare.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers