post-trip report

December 12, 2013

The Dangerous Women launch event in Santa Fe went swimmingly!  George reports that the proceedings were filmed and will be online at some point.  I’ll post a link to that when it’s available.

Of course I picked the coldest, stormiest week this winter to drive to New Mexico. The temperature was 7 F when I left Boulder.  The washer fluid in my car froze.  This has never happened to me before.  I figured out how to do this thing where when my windshield got too dirty, I’d draft behind a semi to get slush splashed on the glass, then set the wipers to full for a minute.  That would get the worst of the muck scraped off.  Nice, huh?  By the trip home, the temperature was up to 25, and the fluid finally thawed out.

You’re thinking I should have flown to New Mexcio, right?  Turns out, driving was actually the correct choice, given that I don’t know a single person who got on an airplane this week and didn’t have some kind of epic cancelled and delayed flight adventure.  And by driving, I got to do some emergency last minute location scouting for the current work in progress.  Nice!

Now, home, and diving into the holidays in earnest.  *rolls up sleeves*

7 Responses to “post-trip report”

  1. Ron Lionus Polubinski Says:

    There is at least one good thing about bad travelling conditions. They can supply a writer with believable “unexpected diversions” for a fictional character to encounter when traveling from Point A to Point B that the reader can react to with “Yeah, that’s happened to me a couple of times.”

  2. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Cheep vodka in with the wiper fluid will take care of that problem.

  3. David Bowles Says:

    Alcohol/water solution has a much lower freezing point, that’s true.

  4. Thomas Stacey Says:

    Glad you made it home safely and had nothing worse to report than an interesting experience drifting behind a semi to clean your windshield.

    I hope that I made the right choice to fly home for Christmas week instead of driving myself, but we will see.

    Looking forward to seeing pics or videos of the event!

  5. smsand Says:

    Back in my general cleaning days, when it got that cold out and had to clean outside windows, we’d put a small amount of antifreeze into our window cleaning solution. Worked like a charm. Naturally, we couldn’t tell our boss we were doing that, lol!

    Can’t wait to watch the vids! :)

  6. Honza the potato freak Says:

    Omg…*feints*…………….*wakes up*…um…wha-oh ya well i cant believe that my favorite author (Carrie Vaughn) lives in boulder while i live 30 min. away from boulder in denver!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!*feints again*

  7. Thomas Stacey Says:

    @Honza

    I was totally like this when I first moved to Denver from Phoenix and I already knew she lived in Boulder. It was so much fun to be able to meet Carrie when I frist went to one of her events that she has periodically around Denver area.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers