cynic part 2

December 9, 2013

I’m not going to see the new Robocop movie — unless it somehow shockingly, amazingly, gets super-awesome-stellar reviews on the level of Schindler’s List — because I’ve learned my lesson.  I will not fall into the nostalgia trap this time.  I’m not even interested in it from an academic standpoint, to learn how Hollywood thinks this story needs to be updated and changed for a “modern” audience.  I have absolutely no desire to see how the filmmakers turned one of the most brilliant, damning satires ever into soporific, sentimental drivel.  I do not want to see why they decided to turn Officer Ann Lewis into Officer Jack Lewis.  Everything about the trailer gives me hives.  Hollywood, you do not get my money this time.

I’m just done.

5 Responses to “cynic part 2”

  1. David Bowles Says:

    I feel you on this one. Prometheus really put a crimp in my movie-going.

  2. Jax Says:

    Ewwww, David, you said the “P” word, now I’ll not be able to sleep thinking about all the stupid crammed into that movie! (Uk Time here)
    Right there with you on Robocop, I watched the new Total Recall in the tv and was amazed, it was so pretty, and so stupid.

  3. Pat Mathews (major Kitty fan) Says:

    A movie expert on the Fourth Turning boards noted that remakes of movies only work in two sorts of periods: Done seriously in times like the time of the first one; or done as satire halfway between such times. I have not seen anything yet to contradict him. IN fact –

    If the book was written in one time and the movie is made 40 years later, it WILL end up as satire. Case in point: Starship Troopers. OK – not quite 40 years, but Heinlein’s head was still in WWII.

    This is why the Pride & Prejudice remake (the BBC one) worked so well, and the 1950s version was fit only for the Disney Kiddie market.

  4. Carbonman Says:

    I wholeheartedly agree with you. ‘Robocop’ was a movie reflecting the times it was made; there’s no way to make it fresh for the current political/economic/social climate. The story’s too well known and needs to be left alone.

    Continuing on the reboot vein, I’m hoping the ‘Terminator’ reboot takes a sharp left turn and truly surprises us.

  5. Doruk Says:

    I expect this to be completely horrible, so won’t even try :P


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers