zoo babies

September 20, 2013

So many zoo babies!  I even spotted the baby snow leopard, peering out from his ledge.

Emmy’s favorite animals were the elephants.  Every time we tried to leave the elephant habitat, she said, “More!”  If you ask her what an elephant says, she holds her arm over her head (like a trunk, see) and squeaks.

She really wanted to see monkeys, but seemed a bit nonplussed by them.  That’s when I suddenly realized (though I should have realized this a long time ago) that our standard accepted stylized monkey form, the kind you see in storybooks and cartoons, doesn’t look anything at all like any real life monkey.  Cartoon monkeys are brown with big ears and big smiles and long tails.  Like baby chimps, except for the tail.  Real monkeys are pretty much any color but brown, and when you get right down to it they look like shriveled little nightmare homonculi.  They’re not actually all that cute.  (Well, the pygmy marmoset was cute.  Mostly because it’s the size of a freaking teacup.)  So yeah, we got some really good looks at the zoo’s monkeys and lemurs, and Emmy sort of had this look on her face like, “Yeah, right — where are the real monkeys?” I can’t really blame her.  (She conked out for a nap in her stroller just as we got to the great apes, so we didn’t get to see if maybe the gorillas matched her idea of monkeys better.)

But the elephants were a hit.

Today, I’m offline as I go in to have my wisdom teeth out.  I’m a bit freaked out about it.  Wish me luck.  In the meantime, I’m just going to look at this picture of a month-old baby zebra for awhile.  That’ll make me feel better.

baby zebra - Cropped

OMG baby zebra!!!!!!!!!

4 Responses to “zoo babies”


  1. I dare you not to find the capuchin monkey or the squirrel monkey adorable. :-P

    Glad to hear you guys had a good time at the zoo, and that you saw so many baby animals. I remember when I visited the Denver Zoo, there was a baby/toddler gorilla.

  2. Griggk the goblin Says:

    I can never visit the monkey enclosure without thinking of Heinlein’s “Stranger in a Strange Land”.


  3. […] zoo babies (carriev.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 334 other followers