yes, I watch SyFy on Tuesdays

August 21, 2013

Face Off:  I don’t think I talked much about Season 4 because I was mostly disappointed in it.  It was pretty clear that the show was running out of talent to recruit, and Anthony was so clearly the best artist right from the start.  And nobody did anything pretty.  There was a sameness to the big, gooey, ugly, gross monsters that everyone did week after week.  So, I’m deeply happy with this season, because Laura is back and we’ll get to see some really beautiful work, because that’s what she does.  The show seemed to realize they needed to get some real diversity in talent back in the lab.  So I’m liking the vets v. rookies format.  Though the maturity of the vets v. the noobiness of the rookies is kind of painful some moments.

Heroes of Cosplay:  Digging the costumes, but the depiction of cosplay culture doesn’t really jive with my experience of cosplay culture (which is admittedly limited, but still), which is annoying.  Then I remembered something my friend Zoo told me.  We were at DragonCon, and I noticed something:  the very best costumes were not in the Masquerade.  You want to see the very best costumes at DragonCon, you go to the hotel lobby Friday and Saturday nights.  When I asked her why these fantastic, amazing costumes weren’t in the Masquerade, Zoo said something along the lines of, “The Masquerade is mostly for the attention whores.”  And that’s what’s bugging me about Heroes of Cosplay.  I don’t think we’re actually getting a good look at cosplay here, which is a shame.

4 Responses to “yes, I watch SyFy on Tuesdays”

  1. Becca Says:

    I agree on both accounts. I thought Heroes was going to be like Face Off but with costuming. Unfortunately it is more like Toddlers in Tiaras with adults. :-/ Still, I will watch it for the beauty and maybe get some inspiration.

  2. carriev Says:

    Yeah, I’m actually getting inspired. But it’s definitely structured pretty much exactly like Toddlers and Tiaras. That’s on the editors, not the participants. It’s frustrating.

  3. Griggk the goblin Says:

    “Heroes of Cosplay” is bugging me a bit on two fronts…first, the second syllable in cosplay is “play”. When Chloe expressed the thought that people with less than perfect body types should be allowed to express themselves through costumes, all the “professional” players started talking about how this is a serious profession.

    Secondly, I don’t consider it terribly professional for judges to fraternize with contestants, or to judge contestants whom they have mentored.

    As far as “Face-Off” is concerned, I’m glad to see Roy and Laura both getting a second chance.

  4. Carrie V. Says:

    That’s my feeling too, with this emphasis on “professional” cosplayers — all the really cool pics that go viral are always hall costumes. The really great work is being done in hall costumes, not on the stage.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers