writing vacation

July 17, 2013

First, a couple of announcements.

Tantor Audio is running a contest on their Facebook page:  win a set of Kitty audiobooks, signed by me!

My short fiction summer avalanche continues.  “The Best We Can” is scheduled to go up on Tor.com this morning.  Alas, I don’t have a specific link to the story. . .because I’m posting this ahead of time, because I’m on the road today.  In a typical case of Murphy’s Law, this story is going live when I’m probably not going to be anywhere near an internet connection for awhile, so I won’t be able to follow the immediate reaction to it.  Grrrr!  But please do go take a look at it.  It’s a story about first contact.

And no, I’m not going to San Diego Comic Con.  I’m going on a short roadtrippy vacation — I’ll tell you all about when I get back!

Which brings me to my writing vacation. . .  Not that I ever take a vacation from writing.  But when we put together the contract for the current run of Kitty novels, I asked for more time, and went from turning them in every six months to turning them in every nine to ten months.  I just needed some breathing room between books.  I didn’t think the extra few months would make that much of a difference, but it turns out it’s been huge.  It’s been sanity preserving.  I have more time to prepare for and outline the next Kitty novels, but I also have time now to work on, well, whatever the hell I want.  Not a vacation from writing, but, you know, a writing vacation.

I’ve spent this past month or so since finishing the Cormac novel:  revising Dreams of the Golden Age, working on a short story, a novelette, a novella, a proposal for a new stand-alone novel, and a secret project.  I’ve been able to cross some things off my writing “to-do” that have been there for quite some time, and that feels magnificent.  And all of it without the pressure of thinking I really ought to be working on the next novel instead.  It feels great.

Next month, I’ll start working on the next novel on the contract, and I’ll be ready for it.

2 Responses to “writing vacation”

  1. Juls Says:

    You’ve clearly been busy! Enjoy the time you have to take a breather.

    I finally got my hands on the first Kitty novel; I LOVED IT! Had it finished in a single day. I’m look forward to reading the rest as well as your other books.

  2. Thomas Stacey Says:

    You’re a very busy lady. Enjoy your trip and your writing vacation from the Kitty Books!

    Glad you slowed down and extended your ‘deadline’ to where you are able to work on other projects as well as be more prepared for the next Kitty book as well. Sounds like it’s made a huge difference for you, which is a good thing, and with the weird world of publishing and release dates I sure can’t tell any difference.

    Looking forward to picking up the next Kitty book in a few days and hearing/reading more of your short stories as well as the Cormac novel and Dreams of the Golden Age.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers