2 movies

July 8, 2013

The Lone Ranger

This was a parody of a western, and not a very good one.  And bloated.  Way bloated.  It needed about six fewer plotlines than it had.  But I liked the horses.

Also, it’s bad enough having a (mostly) white actor play an iconic Native American character like Tonto.  What’s equally offensive is Johnny Depp borrowing a bunch of Hollywood Indian cliches in order to play yet another quirky Johnny Depp character, ha ha, isn’t he weird?  I think I’m done with these Johnny Depp-plays-a-quirky-weird-character vehicles.

Despicable Me 2

I have to be honest, for someone who’s a fan of the Minions, like me, this was actually kind of traumatic, for reasons that will be totally clear if you’ve seen it.  Also, “It’s not a real family until there’s a Mom and a Dad?”  Really?  We’re going there?  This is the kind of thing that makes me wonder what people who claim that Hollywood is radically liberal are smoking.  Yeah, not as good as the first.

4 Responses to “2 movies”


  1. What baffles me is why Gore Verbinski and Johnny Depp needed to do another Western, since they’d already done the perfectly serviceable Rango.

    Really, the only quirky Johnny Depp character I can stand is Jack Sparrow. Any other character and it feels like he’s trying too hard.

  2. sef Says:

    The Depp thing was enough to get me to decide, in advance, I wouldn’t see the movie — and I LIKE Johnny Depp, most of the time!

    For DM2: the best parts were the interaction between Grue and the girls — I laughed, I cried, it became a part of me. And the big dance number got a huge belly laugh out of me. While I thought the minions were pretty much the best part of the first movie, in this one, I thought they were fairly over-used.

    I didn’t get a “not a real family until there’s a mom and a dad” from it, unless I’ve forgotten something; I got the impression that this was simply the result of him opening his heart to the girls.

  3. LupLun Says:

    I liked The Lone Ranger, but more for the action scenes and clever framing device. I agree that the second act drags, I thought the finale made up for it in spades, though.

    Still, I’d rather have been watching Pacific Rim.

  4. Carrie V. Says:

    Well, Gru opened his heart to the girls in the first movie. In this one, everyone is trying to set him up on dates because he can’t possibly be happy as a single guy (even though he seemed pretty happy up til now) and Agnes isn’t truly happy until she has someone she can call Mom.

    It just seemed really cliche after the vague subversiveness of the first movie.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers