working, working

June 19, 2013

So I’m reading this book,which is something of a prequel to another series by this same author.  I know from having read the series that all these characters turn into gods and dragons by the later books.  That’s right, they all turn into dragons!  But this prequel is just the first in a trilogy, and I’m close enough to the end that it’s becoming clear that nobody’s going to turn into dragons in this book.  Which totally bums me out.  I want dragons!  Now!

Here’s a sneak peek of the Kitty in the Underworld playlist:

5 Responses to “working, working”

  1. Drew G. Says:

    That sounds like an exciting book, will you share the title or is that bad etiquette?

  2. Carrie V. Says:

    It’s Forge of Darkness by Steven Erikson. Prequel to the Malazan Book of the Fallen series.

  3. Konrad Says:

    Not everyone turns into a dragon; that one guy turns into Death.

    I wonder how that book reads to someone who hasn’t read the series yet. I found the beginning slow and confusing because I already knew so much about the characters and their world.

  4. Ann Says:

    For a moment, I thought you were exaggerating about Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonsdawn. I’d guess that reading Forge of Darkness after the books that were written earlier would be more satisfying, like reading Dragonsdawn after other Pern novels might have been for me.

  5. Carrie V. Says:

    Konrad — I don’t know, in some respects it might be easier coming to it fresh. But it’s so dense, and I’m constantly having to remind myself who all these people were. On the other hand, one of the things pulling me through the slow part is the promise that eventually THEY ALL BECOME DRAGONS! And that we’re going to see the first appearance of Dragnipur at some point.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers