a catching up post

May 15, 2013

I’ve had a couple of weeks of minor emergencies on top of trying to finish a novel and getting ready for a trip, and finishing a costume for a convention, so I’m a little brain fried right now.  So here is a scattered update post.

The Cormac novel is nearing completion.  At this stage I always hear Gold Leader saying “Almost there. . .”

What I’ve started calling the Ombria Gown is almost done.  I’m still figuring out how to do the partlet (the gauzy bit that covers the chest), but my SCA friend who made custom brooches for the bodice delivered them last night, so one way or another I’ll be at Costume Con on Saturday, all decked out.

I talk so much about revision, I’m going to put my money where my mouth is and do a post in the next week or so showing a page of a short story I just did a major revision on.  It’s got whole paragraphs deleted and rewritten and everything.

The July 2013 issue of Asimov’s Science Fiction, including my story “The Art of Homecoming,” is now available in book stores, news stands, etc.  Look, Ma, I’m on the cover!

Paula Guran’s latest anthology After the End: Recent Apocalypses is due out soon.  It got a starred review from Publisher’s Weekly and includes a reprint of “Amaryllis.”

GRRM announced the table of contents for his and Gardner Dozois’ upcoming anthology, Rogues, which I believe is due out this fall, and will contain a brand new story of mine, “Roaring Twenties.”  That’s a heck of a lineup.  I always love being included in anthologies that I probably would have bought anyway, even if I weren’t in them.

I’ve got a whole slew of short stories coming out this year — the avalanche has begun!

4 Responses to “a catching up post”


  1. Wow this post is filled with awesome news, so congratulations! Looking forward to your post on revision.

  2. LupLun Says:

    Sheesh, that is a lot. How do you get in all these anthologies, anyway? Networking, invitations, or is there some website somewhere where publishers post calls?

  3. Jazzlet Says:

    Wonderful, I’m on a short stories binge at the moment.

  4. carriev Says:

    LupLun, many anthologies post open announcements (there’s no one clearinghouse for these announcements, but ralan.com is pretty good). Most of the ones I’m in these days I get invited to — esp. reprint anthologies, it’s because the editor already liked the story.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers