homestretch

May 10, 2013

I have a busy stretch coming up.  I’m heading out for a workshop in a week or so, and in the meantime I’m entering the homestretch of “the Cormac novel.” (I have a title, but I have a feeling the publisher may not like it, so I’m keeping it under wraps for now.)  Oh, and I still have to revise the story for said workshop.  And my washing machine gave out and needs replacing.  And…and…  Yeah.  Brain’s full.

So here are some links to keep you busy.  In my review I mentioned two big tropes that Iron Man 3 subverted, or at least played with with a tremendous amount of self-awareness and panache, making the film pretty darned smart to my English major eyes.  Other people are talking about them, too.

“How Iron Man 3 Flipped the Script on Female Characters”

and

“Why The Mandarin Needed to Be Portrayed as He Was in Iron Man 3″

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers