update on forthcoming books and stories

February 15, 2013

The year is starting to shape up.  I’m scheduling appearances, signings.  Check on the page for what’s coming up, and for updates.  Many more releases than I expected will be happening this year.  I always forget just how productive I actually am until I line it all up, and so far I’ve got at least two novels and half a dozen stories coming out this year.  WHEW!  Here’s a rundown.

February

Two, count them TWO, Harry and Marlowe stories this month.  “Harry and Marlowe Escape the Mechanical Siege of Paris” tells how the two adventurers met, and will be out on Lightspeed later this month.

“Harry and Marlowe Meet the Founder of the Aetherian Revolution” is out RIGHT NOW! in the Mad Scientists Guide to World Domination.  I know, because I just got my contributor copies!

March

Kitty Rocks the House.  The eleventh novel in the series.  Kitty and Ben are back home, dealing with the aftermath of the London trip — and trouble at home.

May

“Game of Chance” in the anthology Unfettered, edited by Shawn Speakman.

July

“The Art of Homecoming” in Asimov’s Science Fiction.

Kitty in the Underworld.  This is the big news:  the twelfth Kitty novel is available for preorder.  It’s coming fast on the heels of the previous book, making this a two-novel year.  Excellent, no?

Future

Plus, I have a couple of Wild Cards stories in the work, at least three more stories that I don’t have release dates for yet, and Dreams of the Golden Age, which is now totally revised and turned in.

And I’m now full speed ahead working on the next Kitty novel, which is actually a Cormac novel.  I’m trying something a bit new with this one, working up a more formal three-act outline than I usually do.  Trying to solve some of the plotting problems before I start writing, rather than in revision.  We’ll see how that goes!

Bonus content:  here’s an interview with Jim and Jamie Dutcher, authors and producers of the book/documentary The Secret Life of Wolves.  They discuss social behavior and hierarchies in wolf packs.  These relationships are more complicated than most people realize.  “Alpha male” doesn’t mean what most people think it means.  Also, wolf howls!

13 Responses to “update on forthcoming books and stories”

  1. WanabePBWriter Says:

    You are getting much closer to the status of prolific author, or would you say it’s still a matter of publishing and timing?

  2. Carrie V. Says:

    I’m already considered super-prolific by most authors of my acquaintance. We’ve figured out that writing a little bit every day actually allows me to produce more than the binge writing that other authors do. The fact that I’ve been able to keep writing short stories in between two novels a year is really what pushes it around the corner.

  3. Carrie V. Says:

    (What may be more in line with your question… I write about 4-6 short stories a year, but it may take years for those stories to actually get published. That works about to…about 4-6 stories a year actually getting published. Funny how that works out. The stories coming out this year were written over about the last 4 years. “Game of Chance” I wrote in something like 2008.)

  4. Doruk Says:

    I like Jim and Jamie Dutcher’s documentary, I think I own it on DVD somewhere (have the book as well). However, what they observed was still lives of captive and largely unrelated-by-blood wolves, so probably not perfectly accurate to the behavior in the wild. Still, nice documentary.

    Also, yay for two book year! Will start checking borderlands for the next one, maybe it will show up early ;)

  5. October Says:

    Can’t wait for the Kitty books! On Amazon, they have the cover up for Kitty in the Underworld. There seems to be a werecat beside her instead of a wolf- that’s interesting!


  6. Carrie, Is there going to be a compilation of your Harry and Marlowe stories at some point?


  7. [...] Carrie Vaughn liefert ein Update zu ihren nächsten Projekten. [...]

  8. carriev Says:

    Aaron: yes, that’s exactly what I want to do, but it will probably be awhile because I have probably 4-5 more stories about them I want to write first.

  9. carriev Says:

    And yes, in Underworld that would be a were-lioness.

  10. smsand Says:

    Congratulations! The pleasant surprises are always the best. :)

  11. Jean Lamb Says:

    I just finished Kitty Steals the Show. First, I love how she didn’t go all Anita, and conquered through the human power of communication. Secondly, and I’m sure you’ve heard this one already, but when I met Marid, I suddenly went “…Marid with Children”. Sadly, the Bundy family would work so well as dysfunctional werewolves. But I loved that book, and am so looking forward to the next one. (I am also looking forward to retirement so I can whack out a couple of thousand words a day without it being November…).

  12. Amy Says:

    I just found out about ” Dreams of the Golden Age”, and I can’t express to you how excited I am. The first one was stunning and fresh, and beautiful. I’m really looking forward to more.
    Thank you.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers