Warm Bodies

February 11, 2013

I guess there are minor spoilers here.  Thematic spoilers, mostly.

So it’s basically Romeo and Juliet with zombies and an unmitigated happy ending.  But in my case, I couldn’t really get past the Stockholm Syndrome romance.  You know the one — the creepy borderline psychotic  the hero kidnaps rescues the woman who ought to be freaking out the open-hearted heroine, who sees the goodness within him and realizes they were meant to be together.  Yeah, getting kind of tired of this.  (Though I’d suddenly like to see a gender swapped version that doesn’t end up like Misery.  You know, Manic Pixie Dreamgirl kidnaps, or rather “kidnaps,” a cute but intellectually vague guy…)

Movies like this also remind me why I don’t go to comedies much.  I’m sitting there stewing, smirking at the so-called jokes while the rest of the audience is laughing whole-heartedly.  And when I do laugh (exactly one and a half times in this movie), no one else in the theater generally does, which makes me feel like a total freak.  (Meanwhile, I think Hansel and Gretel, with its whopping 15% on Rotten Tomatoes, is hysterical.)

This isn’t a bad movie.  Nicholas Hoult is pretty much brilliant as R and carries the movie all by himself.  But it could have been so much more.  It could have gone in some really interesting directions, but decided to go John Hughes lite instead.  Which mostly tells me that I’m just not the target audience.

11 Responses to “Warm Bodies”


  1. I have the same problems with movies, books, et al so please don’t feel so alone.Thanks for the review and I am looking forward to Hansel and Gretel.


  2. I just cannot bring myself to see a zombie “romance” at all, so Warm Bodies was not on my too watch list, and your review makes sure it stays off, thank you!! I was wavering on Hansel & Gretel and now I want to see it!

  3. Adam. Says:

    I remember going to see the Beat Takeshi Zatoichi.
    Half full cinema.
    Three of us were in stiches frequently (mostly at incidental things in the background), not a peep out of anyone else.

  4. WanabePBWriter Says:

    Totally off topic a link for Carrie. The last item put me in mind of your Bosch halloween costume from last year.

    http://listverse.com/2013/02/09/10-eerie-items-of-clothing-from-the-past/


  5. I liked Hansel & Gretel, too! And I was the only one in the theatre who laughed at the funny parts, which was weird, because it was absolutely funny! But not to anyone else, obviously. Hmph.

  6. T.K. Marnell Says:

    Unfortunately, a gender-swapped version would never work. You know strong women can’t exist in Hollywood without some inner fragility that takes ‘em down a peg to acceptably feminine, and sweet men are doomed to play the comic sap or second lead at best.

  7. Sean Eric Fagan Says:

    I enjoyed it.

    But now I’d like to see the gender-swapped version.

  8. Carrie V. Says:

    Over on FB we’ve been coming up with titles for the John Hughes Zombie movie:

    Pretty in Pallor
    The Brains for Breakfast Club
    16 Shambles
    Moan Anything


  9. (Spoilers in my comment)

    I thought I was the only that felt that way! I was so disappointed in both the book and the movie. I just couldn’t get over how passive they were. Julie doesn’t *do* anything to win R’s interest, she’s just pretty. The zombies don’t *do* anything to become human again, it’s just the (imagine doves cooing here) love of a beautiful girl. Ugh. And the whole Stockholm Syndrome vibe creeped me out. I loved Hoult as R – he really brought the humor and the unique voice that made me like the book*.)

    * until halfway through it when I realized how self-absorbed the characters were

  10. carriev Says:

    Linda, I agree with all that!

  11. kehtaci Says:

    Finally, a recommendation for Hansel and Gretel that I can get behind. I laughed at the wrong parts in Warm Bodies too, and I’m a zombie lover… it was disappointing.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers