Maui

February 8, 2013

A couple of months ago, my mom called and said, “We’re going to Maui the first week of February, want to come?”  And I thought, what’s the point of being self-employed if I can’t drop everything and go to Maui for a week?  So I did.

haleakala

Okay, I know that doesn’t look like Maui, but it is.  It’s Haleakala, the highest point and the volcano that makes up the eastern half of the island.  Last erupted in 1790 and still considered active.  You can actually see cinder cones and old lava flows in the valley.

This is probably more like what you expect Maui to look like.

coast

One of the very cool things about Maui this time of year:  it’s where most of the northern Pacific’s humpback whales winter over, have their babies, mate, etc.  What this means is, pick a spot along the southwest coast, bring your binoculars — and you will see whales.  Breaching, tailing over, spouting, fin slapping, everything.  Dozens of them.  It’s amazing.  I did a couple of days of diving, and watched whales from the dive boat as we went out through Ma’alaea Bay.  I was secretly hoping to see whales underwater, but it turns out that’s really rare.  However, I did hear them singing.  It sounded a little like someone tuning a ham radio in the next room.  Or like listening to a conversation I couldn’t quite make out.

It’s an alien world, underwater. I love it.

 

4 Responses to “Maui”


  1. You have a good life, thatz great!!!

  2. Carrie V. Says:

    That was something I kept thinking the whole trip — I do have a good life! So very grateful.

  3. Mom Says:

    You also worked very hard to get where you are. There were lots of years with no vacation!

  4. jackie Says:

    I married in to a family that comes from Maui. I love that island. Haleakala is amazing. One year I am going to go stargazing on Haleakala, followed by watching the sunrise, etc, etc. I will probably not take the bike ride down the mountain. They make you use all those brakes too much. What’s the point of going up a mountain if you can’t scream down it?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 353 other followers