It’s that time of year again…

January 7, 2013

It’s the time of year when nominations open up for various SF&F publishing awards, and the debate rages about whether or not it’s okay, or terribly gauche, for authors to put up lists of what they published in the last year that’s eligible for said awards.

I’ve gone ahead and posted a list the last few years because:  a) people ask what I’ve done, and it’s nice to have a place to point them.  and b) I wonder what all I’ve done, and it makes me feel pretty good to list it all out.  So, here’s what I published in 2012 that’s eligible for award nominations.  (In the next week or so I may do something crazy and list stuff by other people that I think is worthy for nomination.  I’m fully on board with the “Let’s get something other than Doctor Who winning the Hugo for Best Dramatic Short, shall we?” project.  Yes, I’ve finally caught up with Doctor Who, and I still don’t like Matt Smith’s Doctor, and I can’t help but think that after that last episode, Amy and Rory are secretly thinking, “Well, that finally got us clear of him, didn’t it?”  But that’s probably best left for another post/rant.)

Novels

Kitty Steals the Show  (After having something like eight novels out over the last three years, these seems a bit light.  It also seems, how shall I put this…relaxing.)

Novelettes

“Astrophilia,” Clarkesworld, July 2012. (This story is set in the same world as my Hugo-nominated “Amaryllis.”)

“The Arcane Art of Misdirection,” in Hex Appeal, ed. by P.N. Elrod.

Short Stories

“Harry and Marlowe and the Talisman of the Cult of Egil,” Lightspeed, Feb. 2012

“Don Quixote,” Armored, ed. John Joseph Adams.

“Now Purple with Love’s Wound,” Brave New Love, ed. Paula Guran.

Poem (I published a poem this year!)

“Caverns of Science,” Apex Magazine, Feb. 2012

 

A pretty good year, yeah?  And what’s up for 2013?  Well.  At least one, possibly two novels.  Two short stories coming out in February, and at least 2-3 others through the rest of the year.  Possibly more as I get publication dates.  Things do appear to be going quite swimmingly!

3 Responses to “It’s that time of year again…”


  1. I can’t help but think that after that last episode, Amy and Rory are secretly thinking, “Well, that finally got us clear of him, didn’t it?”

    I’ll admit, Matt Smith isn’t my favorite Doctor, but I’m pretty much used to him by now. There have definitely been worse Doctors in the past — I always found Peter Davison’s Doctor to be a submissive wimp, and Colin Baker’s Doctor was just plain unpleasant, not to mention that coat of his, though I hear the audio stories he’s been in since then have really cleaned up his image.

  2. Adam. Says:

    Regardless of what you think about Matt Smith as The Doctor, they’ve wimped out on the companion again. Old school Doctors had companions from all manner of points of origin (mentioning no Leelas and Romanas in particular), the new companions since Rose Tyler (I’m not counting Cap’n Jack because he only hung around for a short while) have all been contemporary, early 21st century girls (and Mickey/Rory).

    This time we could have had Clara Oswin Oswald entertainment officer starship Alaska (self-confessed total screaming genius), but no. Or we could have had Clara Oswin Oswald Victorian Barmaid/Governess, or apparently not. It seems we’re getting Clara Oswin Oswald the early 21st century girl. Oh well.

    (Note that I’ve got no general problem with early 21st century girls (or late 20th century for that matter) I know several ;-) some of them aren’t even particularly strange…)

  3. carriev Says:

    I think you’re exactly right on the companion. And however I felt about Amy, it was interesting having a married couple as companions. But yeah, this cute young modern girl thing is getting really annoying. I was also hoping we’d get a Victorian companion this go around, but no.

    Now missing Captain Jack…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers