happy Friday!

December 14, 2012

Gene Wolfe has been named a SFWA Grandmaster.  Here’s a story I haven’t told often:  right after the first Kitty story ran in Weird Tales, the magazine got a letter asking for another Kitty story — from Gene Wolfe.  I already knew I wanted to write more Kitty stories, but I hesitated, because I wasn’t sure anyone would want to read them.  I didn’t know if the first one was any good or not, or if it was worth my time writing any more about this character.  But if Gene Wolfe wants a story, you write him a story.  So I wrote the next Kitty story.  And the next.  And the novel.  And, well, you know the rest of it.  I was at the World Fantasy Convention the year Kitty and The Midnight Hour came out, and I got to personally thank Gene then for the blurb he gave the novel, and for the much-needed encouragement.

What I’ve been working on for the last two months:

  • Finished and turned in the first draft of the After the Golden Age sequel.  The title is no longer Age of Tin, it looks like it’s going to be called Dreams of the Golden Age.
  • Started work on a short story that’s due in January.
  • Wrote up pitches for two new projects I’ll start work on just as soon as I can.
  • Revising Kitty in the Underworld.  This ended up being a big job.  I added a couple of scenes, moved around a couple of scenes, rewrote a couple of scenes.  The changes ripple through the whole manuscript.  I set myself a couple of big challenges with this book, and I want to make sure all you readers get what I’m trying to do with it.  I’ll warn you, this is kind of an odd book.  I hope you like it.
  • Miscellaneous.  I’ve been making a lot of notes for the Cormac novel, and future Harry and Marlowe stories.

The plan is to go see The Hobbit this afternoon.  I’ll report back my findings, of course, probably Monday.  Stay tuned.

4 Responses to “happy Friday!”


  1. Just so you know, while I liked the movie, there are definitely some changes to the source material with which you may or may not take umbrage.


  2. Am looking forward to everything you publish, thanks for all the good reading time last year. Merry Christmas, am looking forward to your review, we mostly agree on TV and movies.

    Joe

  3. Kyle Clarke Says:

    loved After the Golden Age. looking forward to the next.

  4. carriev Says:

    Thanks for reading!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers