Happy Belated Thanksgiving

November 24, 2012

I’ve had a rather glorious last week and a half, topped off by a comfortable Thanksgiving dinner at my parent’s house, with lots of food (I took thirds!) and too much very good wine.  I’ve been in a frenzy for pretty much the last month and a half, with conventions, travel, planning for travel, and finishing up all the writing and projects on my list before the trip so I wouldn’t have them hanging over me.  I’ve gotten some good news on the short story publishing front.  I’m busy figuring out what projects to work on next year.  And then I realized, I haven’t really thought about the holiday season AT ALL until pretty much right now.  For once, my own personal holiday season really did kick off at Thanksgiving.  Now I’ve got the music going, I need to pull up the decorations from the basement, and figure out presents and shopping and cards and all that good stuff.  I’m excited.  I’ve decided I like this compact season with a definite start date.  I’m going to do my best to enjoy the heck out of it.

Some late-breaking news I missed while traveling:

Author C.T. Adams has set up an eBay auction to benefit Hurricane Sandy recovery.  I’ve donated the first four UK edition books in the Kitty series, signed.  There’s still a couple of days left to bid!

My story “A Princess of Spain” has been reprinted at Lightspeed.

And where, you may ask, did I go on vacation?

Someplace with palm trees and blue blue waters.  This is at Playa del Carmen, but I spent most of the week on Cozumel, diving.  And they really are some of the most spectacular coral reefs I’ve ever seen, in my admittedly limited experience.  I think I could spend the rest of my life diving just at Palancar and never be bored.

More later.  I’m still in cleaning up and recovery mode.  Getting back into the writing (I’ve got a book due in a week.  It’s done, I just need to clean it up a bit before I turn it in).  And there’s some Christmas to be celebrating!

 

One Response to “Happy Belated Thanksgiving”


  1. Excellent article. Keep posting such kind of info on your page.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You’ve performed a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and individually suggest to my friends.

    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers