news of the day, right now, and next week

April 25, 2012

The thing I was thinking about last night:  I want to see the episode of GI Joe where a Congressional oversight committee reviews the team’s massive equipment expenditures.

The announcement went out yesterday that Tor/Forge Books — the company that publishes my current non-YA science fiction and fantasy novels — is going to start releasing all their e-books DRM free. (Link goes to discussion on John Scalzi’s blog.)  I haven’t talked much about e-books and all the back and forth that’s been going on with them over the last few years, because frankly lots of other people know more about it than I do and are talking more intelligently about it than I could.  I do know the idea of DRM free e-books makes a lot of people really happy.  My feeling about e-commerce in general is that if you make it easy for people to buy and use your stuff, they’ll be happy to pay.

And hey, how about this:  A company called Planetary Resources has announced long-term plans to mine asteroids.

My friends and I are developing our Avengers plan.  That is, exactly which of the Marvel movies leading up to the Avengers are we going to watch, and when.  Right now, we’re considering Iron Man 2, Thor, Captain America, the Avengers easter egg at the end of the Ed Norton Hulk (apparently, none of us can quite bring ourselves to watch the whole thing, Tim Roth not withstanding), and the Agent Coulson shorts.  Then, head straight to the movie theater for the Avengers.  Assuming any of us can see straight to drive by that point…

6 Responses to “news of the day, right now, and next week”

  1. Jakk Says:

    I thought The Incredible Hulk was a good movie, and much superior to the original film. Ed Norton made a very good Bruce Banner.
    Also of note, several theaters are showing all the movies you have listed in a marathon(and Iron Man 1 as well) the day before.

  2. Andrew Says:

    Funny you should mention GI Joe. I’ve been watching GI Joe Renegade, and I can’t help but think someone saw the post where you were talking about a GI Joe/A Team crossover and ran with it, up to and including the tricked out van.

  3. carriev Says:

    I know about the theater marathons…and have decided that 8+ hours in a theater with 500 of my closest total strangers, is not the way I want to spend a day, when I could watch the movies on my friend’s very massive TV, and be able to talk and eat and drink adult beverages through the whole thing.

  4. Sean Eric Fagan Says:

    I watched Iron Man 1 & 2 last Saturday, and The Incredible Hulk on Sunday. Thor will be rewatched this Saturday, followed by Captain America on Sunday.

    I’ve got tickets to see Avengers on Friday afternoon.

  5. Besa Says:

    I am so excited that Tor has made the leap! I have a stock rant about Baen’s refusal to use DRM from the beginning and how everyone else ought to learn from their example, which I imagine I’ve bored everyone here with before. Once Tor has gotten all the kinks worked out, it will be time to put my money where my mouth is. First I will buy the entire Wheel of Time by Robert Jordon and Branden Sandersen, then everything Kitty. I will probably have to live on macaroni for a while to accomplish this.

    It’s useful, with epics like Wheel of Time, to be able to search electronically for that bit one has been arguing about with one’s geeky friends, and it works a whole lot better if you can convert the file to an unlocked PDF or similar. This functionality (and my abundance of geeky friends) necessitates putting Wheel of Time first on the list. Sorry. But you beat out Orson Scott Card, so…=P

    I’ve been waiting for non-DRM for Kitty for the reason crudely summarized by XKCD, here: . I wish to carry our favorite werewolf psychologist in my pocket in case I get bored, but if she comes all tied up in DRM, I might be expected to buy her all over again when my current device dies and I switch brands. I risk quite suddenly becoming the proud owner of a pile of books which it would be illegal for me to open. In this sense, illegally stripping a DRM would be a bit like recording your old casettes to MP3 so you can put them on your iPod, except that the technology turns over a whole lot faster, and just passing around the DRM stripping software is a federal offense. This is rather absurd.

    Therefore, I wholeheartedly agree with your lovely summary above: “if you make it easy for people to buy and use your stuff, they’ll be happy to pay.” It sounds so obvious when you say it that way, but I guess CEOs and career politicians don’t understand such concise language. I, for one, intend to buy a big pile of books — books I’ve already read for free — now that I can get them without the DRM. Hooray for Tor!

  6. carriev Says:

    Bless you, Besa!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers