interviews, links, announcements

April 11, 2012

Lots of links and stuff to share.  It’s been a busy couple of weeks!

First, Istrakon.  A belated thanks to the organizers who made my visit easy and fun, and all the attendees who were welcoming and gracious.  The thing about a Croatian science fiction convention:  it looked a lot like an American science fiction convention.  There was a dealers’ room where you could buy books and jewelry and fun stuff (I bought some earrings).  There were panel discussions, readings, trivia contests, parties, concerts, and a bar.  The cafe in the morning was almost as hopping as the bar at night!  The friends who I was visiting are avid gamers, and the Croatian gaming room looks pretty much like every other gaming room I’ve been too.  Which is kinda awesome.  And just because I don’t speak Croatian and didn’t understand the details of a lot of conversations, I could make some guesses — after all, this was a science fiction convention.

While at the convention, I did a video interview with Croatian zine Fantasy Hrvatska.

I also did an interview with Serbian writer Tamara Lujak.

I took part in this week’s Mind Meld at SF Signal.

My Harry and Marlowe story is going to be reprinted in Steampunk Revolution, edited by Ann Vandermeer.  I have the first two anthologies in this series on my shelf, and I’m very pleased to have a story in the third.

In about a week and a half, I’ll be a guest instructor at the Pikes Peak Writers Conference.  (You’ll note, this is the same weekend as StarFest, which I’ll be missing for the first time in like 6 years.  PPWC has been asking me to participate for a while, and this was the year for it.)  I’m told there’ll be a book signing on Thursday, April 19, at the hotel at 7 pm.  This is open to the public, so if you’re in the area, stop by!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers