Armored

March 28, 2012

I have a new short story out, for your reading delight:

“Don Quixote” is appearing in the anthology Armored, edited by John Joseph Adams, which is out NOW!

Sometimes when I get an invitation to an anthology like this, the first thing I think is, “How can I write a story that will be completely different from the kinds of stories people expect in an anthology like this?”  Which is how I ended up writing about a couple of American journalists in Spain near the end of the Spanish Civil War, who encounter a new kind of weapon that might finally turn the tide, and change the future.

4 Responses to “Armored”

  1. Jim Van Pelt Says:

    Which is exactly what I admire the most about your short stories.

  2. Shrike58 Says:

    http://www.dieselpunks.org/profiles/blogs/spanish-civil-war-posters

    The seventh poster from the top includes what looks like an improvised Republican tank

  3. carriev Says:

    Thanks, Jim!

    Shrike, those are great. In that seventh poster, I think they’re actually artillery placements.

    I’ve learned way more about pre WWII tanks than I ever thought I would, doing this story…

  4. Shrike58 Says:

    This is what the last item in what would be the right of the line looked like to me:

    I look forward to your comments on Croatia.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers