Wild Cards news

November 21, 2011

A couple of cool things on the Wild Cards front:

The e-books of the re-released Volume 1, Inside Straight, Busted Flush, and Suicide Kings are on sale until Dec. 14.

The first two books are now available on audio.

If you’ve been wanting to give the series a try, this is a great chance.  Especially since movie rights to the series have just sold and Melinda Snodgrass is writing the screenplay.  *fangirl squee* Back in the day, when I was in college, I wrote George fanmail about Wild Cards.  (He still has my letter, and I still have the letter he wrote back.)  One of the questions I asked was about the possibilities of a movie.  So you can see, this has been a long time coming.

 

 

6 Responses to “Wild Cards news”

  1. sef Says:

    I did in fact purchase Volume I.

    I’m not sure where the others fit in, though; I had to stop reading the series, when it first came out. Too much doom&gloom&rape.

  2. carriev Says:

    Inside Straight is the new “next generation” book that came out a couple of years ago. It’s meant to be a good place to pick up the series for new readers.

  3. sef Says:

    Okay… how it is it on the doom&gloom&rape scale?

    (I’m a sensitive reader, what can I say; I really don’t like books that make me physically ill. I am sure you can guess which book I stopped at; I don’t remember the title, just the basic plot and my reaction to it.)

  4. carriev Says:

    Suicide Kings is rough. Not jumper and Rox island and Blaise rough, but the story hinges on genocide in Africa.

    Inside Straight is reality TV with aces. A bit better. :)

  5. Ian Says:

    Big fan of the series since the ’80s. Can’t wait for the next one. Can’t wait to get asked to contribute. #geekingout

  6. Jakk Says:

    You already know how i feel about Wild Cards, Carrie. I know they tried to do a movie in early 90’s, and what happened to that. I just wonder how they are going to do a movie version of it.

    And i do recommend Inside Straight to start with, or the new version of Wild Cards vol. 1.

    Waiting for the new volume…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers