Discord’s Apple

March 24, 2010

No sooner is one book out than it’s time to start promoting the next one.  That’s what my writing life is going to be like for the next little while.  So without further ado, here’s Discord’s Apple.

This is the first of the two stand-alone novels I wrote right after finishing Kitty and The Midnight Hour, before it had actually sold.  So yeah, I wrote it several years ago now, and I’m  happy that it’s finally getting out in the world.  It’s contemporary fantasy, with a little near-future apocalypse thrown in, and a whole lot of Greek mythology on the side.  (I recently had a friend ask if I was ever going to write a book with a male point of view character.  Well, this one has two point of view characters, and one of them is a male soldier from the Trojan War.)

Plot in a nutshell:  Evie Walker rushes home to the small town of Hopes Fort, Colorado, when her father falls ill.  There, she discovers that she’s the heir to a family heritage that runs much deeper than she ever imagined.  She also discovers that the Trojan War isn’t really over — Hera still wants that apple, you see.  And it’s sitting in Evie’s father’s basement.

Due out July 2010.

20 Responses to “Discord’s Apple”

  1. Mom Says:

    The cover looks great! I have read it and I think it is the best thing that Carrie has written.


  2. [...] Carrie spread her wings and work on novels outside Kitty’s world. The first of these novels, Discord’s Apple, will be published in July. In it, a woman returns home to her dying father, and discovers that the [...]


  3. [...] Vaughn has unveiled the cover for the first of two stand alone novels that are going to be released tonight.  [...]


  4. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by torforgeauthors and Dan Wolinski, rachelle34. rachelle34 said: This looks very cool! And I love Carrie Vaughn… so yeah :) http://tinyurl.com/yaa3t6x [...]

  5. Elena. Says:

    That sounds absolutely great. The cover is really good, too. And – better than Kitty? I’m so going to read it.
    Good luck with it, Carrie.

  6. Trai Says:

    Wow, so we’ll be getting this and Kitty 8 around the same time? Awesome!

  7. spiderorchid Says:

    This sounds interesting – I’ve always loved Greek mythology. ^_^

  8. MDL Says:

    OMG! *pauses for squee* O. M. G.

    Two of my favoritest literary things, Carrie Vaughn and Greek mythology, in one book? Squee!

    (And we have to wait until July? Le sigh. But still, omg, omg, omg…)

  9. Janice Says:

    I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’m jealous of Mom right now.
    :)


  10. Seconded, Janice! :-) Congrats, Carrie! Boy, you are prolific! Can’t wait to read Discord’s Apple!

  11. Meg Says:

    Oooh, Greek mythology. And out this year already! Three books from you in one year? Color me pleased!

  12. carriev Says:

    Try four. It’s crazy! Wasn’t planned, happened by accident. We’ll see how it goes.

  13. Bob Pendell Says:

    As an underground Discordian sympathizer, I am suddenly anxious for July to arrive so I can read this new novel by one of my current favorite authors.

    Wheeeee!!!!!!

    With love under will,

    Bob, Adastra,
    The Wizzard of Jacksonville

  14. Jenn Says:

    Awesome. I look forward to it.

  15. Suze Says:

    Ooh .. can’t wait to read that. Just finished Kitty’s House of Horror and what an awesome ride it was!

    Off topic, I don’t know if you watch the TV show Supernatural, but there is a lot of parallel between Cormac and Dean, no?

    Just so much love for Kitty!


  16. [...] stories off of him). I like Carrie Vaughn for both writing above her peers as well as trying to branch out. It’s worth noting that while some outlets cannot help but fawn over every overused plot [...]


  17. [...] I’m halfway through “Uglies” by Scott Westerfeld, and I recently read”Discord’s Apple” by Carrie Vaughn. A quick plug: Josh Lanyon is m/m (male/male) or LGBT. His books are [...]

  18. Melanie Says:

    I read this book and absolutely love it.


  19. [...] picture courtesy of Carrie Vaughn’s blog.) When Evie Walker goes to spend time with her dying father, she discovers that his creaky old [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers